The Scarlet Letter…oooo! scary!

September 6, 2007

Well, I’ve decided to throw my hat in the ring (metaphorically of course – I have an abnormally large head and well fit hats are hard to come by) and show my support for the Richard Dawkins Foundation’s Out Campaign by displaying the Scarlet Letter of Atheism on my blog.

This campaign has been bouncing around in the blogo-web for a while now and a certain amount of criticism was always to be expected, but I’ve been rather surprised by the concerns and criticisms raised by other atheists.

I’ve really got to side with PZ Myers on this one: It’s not about the logo, it’s not about conformity and it’s not about confrontation. What it is about is atheists agreeing to speak out without fear, and to support each other’s right to do so.

All cat herding idioms aside, I really don’t think that it is asking too much to agree on so little.

Do you?

One Response to “The Scarlet Letter…oooo! scary!”


  1. I agree with you. And I also have an unusually large head.


Leave a Reply

