Punish the victim: reprise

November 25, 2007

Last week I wrote about the sentence of 200 lashes and 6 months in jail for a 19 year old Saudi rape victim. Apparently officials are attempting to fend of criticism by releasing the information that the poor child owned up to having an extramarital affair with the man she was in the car with when the attackers found her.

Well there are a lot of things I could comment about – from the ridiculous dogma that informs these laws, to the oppressive misogyny that supports them – but when I’m this angry all eloquence escapes me. In fact I think I can boil my counter argument down to four relatively simple words:

So. Fucking. What?

Asshole.

One Response to “Punish the victim: reprise”


  1. […] 24, 2008 Last year Saudi Arabia and Sudan were vying for the Award for the Most Stupid and Pernicious Exercising of Religious Law […]


Leave a Reply

