A good atheist

December 29, 2007

I came across an interesting piece in the Tri-City Herald, as part of a week long series on “What we believe”. The series is made up of a selection of vignettes of the lives of various people of differing beliefs and this installment is about an atheist, Fernando Aguilar.

I’m not entirely sure that I agree with atheism being treated as a belief system (and I thought the little side-bar describing atheism and agnosticism is a little narrow) but the piece itself does an excellent job of describing a brave, good person, who tries to help others and to leave the world a better place, without any hope of eternal reward or fear of punishment.

2 Responses to “A good atheist”

  1. dontkill1 Says:

    Moses wasnt rewarded for his good deeds,he was blessed for his faith.Choosing not to believe is a belief.Keyword belief

  2. doubtingthomas426 Says:

    LOVE your post, Dave. I hope you’ll check out my site http://doubtingthomas426.wordpress.com/ as I think you’ll find it right up your alley. I’ve categorized all my posts on the left. Take a few minutes to read through a few. Leave a comment if you like. I’m going to check out some of your other posts now. Take Care.


Leave a Reply

