Do you want the good news or the bad news?

January 8, 2008

The good news is that someone is producing a movie adaptation of William Gibson’s seminal cyberpunk novel Neuromancer. The bad news is that it’s going to star Hayden Christensen.

There are many words that occur to me at a time like this (some of them French) but the one that keeps bouncing around my head like the ball in a spasticated game of Pong is no.

As if it weren’t bad enough when George Lucas mangled my childhood memories and rewrote the entire history of the Star Wars films (and “enhanced” the originals – *shudder*) casting an emotionless plank of wood as one of the most dark and conflicted characters in classic sci-fi, but someone now seems to think that William Gibson’s anti-hero Case would be best represented by Mr inanimate-object-that-walks-like-a-man.

Don’t mind me, I’ll just be in the corner bashing my head against something solid.

*Smack*

via io9

4 Responses to “Do you want the good news or the bad news?”

  1. CarrieP Says:

    I think it was Bradbury who said, paraphrasing here, “It’s best for old authors to leave the work of their youth alone, especially if that old author is me.”

  2. taikwan Says:

    the prequels were great – you just didn’t dig deep enough. and Hayden is George’s and therefore my Anakin Skywalker.

    Tell me…..do you really know Star Wars or are you paraphrasing all those who don’t?

    Qui Gon? the Living Force? do you understand the
    difference? and that Hayden chose that voice to try to mimic a younger JEJ? and that the Jedi and the Republic were going down parallel paths to self-destruction? and that Yoda admitted he was wrong and Qui Gon had been right all along?

    Just wondering how much of a real geek you are before you start slamming and crying about George raping your childhood when it’s always been his story to tell.

  3. Dave Says:

    @taikwan
    the prequels were great – you just didn’t dig deep enough. and Hayden is George’s and therefore my Anakin Skywalker.

    Firstly, just because you thought the prequels were great, doesn’t make it so for everybody else.

    Secondly, how do you know that I didn’t dig deep enough? I dug so deep that I punched through the bottom, and all I found was pointless special effects in place of actual plot, wooden dialog and a complete lack of anything resembling chemistry between the characters.

    Thirdly, George Lucas may have picked Hayden, but then he also invented the Ewoks and Jar Jar Binks. He’s not infallible.

    Tell me…..do you really know Star Wars or are you paraphrasing all those who don’t?

    Sorry, I’m not sure I can parse that. Am I, as someone who doesn’t know Star Wars, paraphrasing quotes of other people who don’t really know Star Wars, to talk about Star Wars? What?

    Qui Gon? the Living Force? do you understand the difference? and that Hayden chose that voice to try to mimic a younger JEJ? and that the Jedi and the Republic were going down parallel paths to self-destruction? and that Yoda admitted he was wrong and Qui Gon had been right all along?

    What on earth does any of that trivia have to do with the quality of the film or my right to be critical of it?

    Just wondering how much of a real geek you are before you start slamming and crying about George raping your childhood when it’s always been his story to tell.

    *sigh* I believe that I used the term mangle, not rape, and I was referring to my memories of my childhood, not the childhood itself. So thanks for putting words in my mouth.

    What precisely does being a geek have to do with my right as a fan to be critical of the film? If it’s “George’s story” then he has the right to tell it like he wants, and I have the right to not be impressed.

    I’m glad that you enjoyed the films, but I think you are going to have to accept the fact that many “legitimate” fans were very very, very disappointed.

  4. Dave Says:

    @CarrieP

    Hehe. Nice.


Leave a Reply

